The III International Poetry Festival MERIDIAN CZERNOWITZ, September 6-9, 2012

 

This year the festival in Chernovtsy will take place from 6th till 9th of September. The final program of the festival has been published just recently. I found there a lot of new and fascinating events.  It is dedicated to the modern Ukrainian and European poetry (of course! it’s the poetry festival) and includes poetry readings, lecture, musical and theatrical performances, screenings of the poetry films, poetry in animation, electropoetry and so on.  Last year I was positively surprised by the concert combining poetry and rock-music. This time there will be something similar, I guess.

The participants changed a little bit. No French poetry this year :( But there will be a lot of events performed by representatives of Ukraine, Poland, Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Romania and Israel.

One of the guests is Oksana Zabuzhko. I have never read her and heard about her just recently from my husband. It turned out that she is the most famous (and maybe only one) Ukrainian writer beyond Ukraine and her works are translated to other languages.

IMHO the highlight of the MERIDIAN CZERNOWITZ 2012 will be the day trips and the poetical events in Khotyn and Kamenets-Podolskiy – the towns with the beautiful impressive fortresses. I still dream to visit these towns one day.

Last year I enjoyed Chernovtsy and the festival and I hope that this year it doesn’t become worse.

Leave a comment